Looks Like Magic…

José Orantes and I have continued the installation process of the mosaic mural for seven full work days since my last post. Most days we’ve met at playground at 7AM and spend about 45 minutes setting up our tarp canopies, organizing our tools and materials and making a plan for our day. These past few days, José has been grouting the parts that are ready and I’ve been doing the detail work. For folks that come by the wall once a week, our (slow,  persistent) progress looks like magic. That’s just an illusion 🙂

The park is quiet early in the morning. This installation is feet away from the storage room that houses electricity and access to a water hose. It’s also right near the restrooms. The tarp tent feels like a home and provides shade. I’m sure I’ll miss the mornings working here in the playground. We’ve also had the opportunity to chat with folks that walk through the playground during these quiet times. We’re touched by their compliments of the mural-in-progress. It’s so nice seeing Janice Engvall who I knew from when my kids were a Lakeridge, walk by each morning with her husband. This week she said “I walk by every day and now instead of seeing the concrete, I’m watching the wall evolve into beautiful artwork!” 

Here are some photos that illustrate our progress:

Thanks also to some of our friends who stopped by to volunteer this week. Here are a few captured at work. Thanks also to Bonni, Sari and Kathy!

In my next post, I’ll share some details about the detail work. Thanks for checking in.

Leave a comment